Visitors

Visitor Information

Founded in 1882, Williams was named for Bill Williams Mountain, the volcanic peak that rises above it. The mountain has long been important to native peoples of the region including the Havasupai, Hualapai, Yavapai and Hopi. It marks the boundary of traditional Hopi lands, and is known to them as Tusaq’tsomo, “The Grassy Hill.”

The mountain was named in 1851 by members of the Sitgraves Expedition to commemorate the legendary mountain man and scout Williams Sherley Williams, who died in 1849. Historians argue over whether Ol’ Bill ever saw the mountain named for him.

Bill Williams lives on in frontier history because of his ability to survive in the wilderness alone, and because of his unusual talents and behavior. He was a fur trapper and pathfinder in the 1820’s and 30’s. He had the ability to speak many different native languages and told his friends that after he died, he hoped to be reincarnated as a bull elk, complete with antlers.

Williams is located just an hour south of the Grand Canyon and is known as the “Gateway to the Grand Canyon”® because of the variety of lodging choices, activities for the whole family, historic Route 66, dining for all tastes, and plenty of outdoor recreation to enjoy before visiting one of the wonders of the world.

Visitors from near and far can take advantage of seasonal golf at Elephant Rocks Golf Course, Bearizona, and one of the most scenic train rides in the country aboard the Grand Canyon Railway.

Guests are encouraged to stop by the official Visitor Center located at 200 W. Railroad Avenue in Williams for a historic walking tour map, available for a small fee, view the Williams Historic Photo Project, and learn more about the rich history of this unique destination.

Make plans to Experience Williams, the “Gateway to the Grand Canyon”®

Call (928) 635-4061 for more information.

 

SIGHTS & ATTRACTIONS

Shootout

Bearizona

Grand Canyon Railway
City of Williams, AZ | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2018 West Corporation